379 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Good But Not Amazing
ymyuseda17 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Rating 7.2/10 Maleficent not a bad movie but it certainly isn't one of Disney's best. Good acting performance by Michelle Pfeiffer a.k.a Queen Ingrith. She really did it. I really like acting by Anjelina Jolie as well. She is perfect in the role. If you like fairytale movie, you will enjoy maleficent.
255 out of 292 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hard to justify celebrating Aurora
sanjaya-william20 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
When it comes down to it, Aurora has very little trust for Maleficent her own godmother. People die, some close to her, and she goes on to receive her grand wedding. What kinda story is this?
64 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Battle Royale Disney style
jeddjong16 October 2019
In 2014, audiences learnt the back-story behind Maleficent, the villainess of Disney's 1959 animated film Sleeping Beauty. Rather than being just a cackling sorceress, Maleficent painted its title character as someone who rose from tragedy and betrayal to form a complex bond with the young Princess Aurora. Directed by Joachim Rønning (Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar's Revenge), this sequel continues that story, pitting Maleficent against a conniving, ruthless new foe.

Angelina Jolie continues to be all sharp-cheekboned perfection as Maleficent. We were afraid that she might phone in it given that this is a sequel, but she still appears to relish the role. Not only does she gets numerous fabulous costume changes, Maleficent goes on a journey of discovering, getting acquainted with her people and learning about their customs and beliefs. There is a conflict between her allegiance to her fae kin and to Aurora, which gives the powerful character something to struggle with.

Much of the film works because of Michelle Pfeiffer. Casting her opposite Jolie was an inspired move. The early promotional materials tried to hide it, but there's no point beating about the bush now - Queen Ingrith is the "Mistress of Evil" of the title. Pfeiffer plays the villain with sneer and swagger hidden beneath a regal façade, with shades of her witch character from Stardust sometimes visible. Coming off like a PG-rated Cersei Lannister, it's an absolute hoot.

There's a lot going on in the plot of the movie, so it is to writers Linda Woolverton, Noah Harpster and Micah Fitzerman-Blue's credit that the movie never loses sight of its emotional core: the relationship between Maleficent and Aurora. They might not be on the same page for much of the film, but it cannot be questioned that Maleficent deeply loves and cares for Aurora, something Ingrith winds up exploiting.

Just as in the first film, the show is stolen by Sam Riley as Diaval, Maleficent's shape-shifting sidekick. Riley manages to be both cool and

While the visuals are often mesmerising and transporting, the film does lean very heavily on computer-generated imagery. This is expected of a fantasy adventure film, but some of the characters do seem unnatural. The Fairy Godmothers Knotgrass (Imelda Staunton), Thistlewit (Juno Temple) and Flittle (Lesley Manville) return from the first film, and their almost-human facial features sometimes cross over into the dreaded uncanny valley.

Prince Philip is boring, but then again, this is something inherent in the source material. Brenton Thwaites, who was busy filming Season 2 of Titans, is replaced by Harris Dickinson, who constantly seems a little bit confused and flat. However, this is also a sign that the film understands that Philip is not the main character, and that he does not have to be the hero to save the day. Chiwetel Ejiofor is almost completely wasted in a relatively small supporting role.

The action sequences in Maleficent: Mistress of Evil are grand and expansive. Like most big-budget high fantasy projects these days, it seems more than a little derivative of Game of Thrones, but the big battle scenes are dynamic and lively. The movie gets surprisingly dark, with the villain's plot involving genocide by way of biological warfare. However, the movie still has a bounce and a sense of humour to it and is never too self-serious the way something like Snow White and the Huntsman and its sequel The Huntsman: Winter's War sometimes were. The big climactic battle takes place in broad daylight, which is a relative rarity in films of this type.

This film has a completely different design team than the first but maintains a sense of visual continuity while also giving us something new. The costumes by Ellen Mirojnick are stunning, especially Maleficent's battle outfit which is a sexy, elegant body paint-style number. Production designer Patrick Tatopolous creates some gorgeous fantasy environments, chief of which is the hidden fae sanctuary comprising mini-environments which have different climates.

Some of it may be overly familiar, but there's still more creativity to this than to Disney's live-action remakes which are obligated to retrace the steps of their animated forebears. Angelina Jolie and Michelle Pfeiffer pitted against each other is worth the price of admission.
113 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Why the bad reviews
jonoau18 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Brilliant. If you have seen the first this is better. Sure it's predictable but it's a lot of fun and very enjoyable. So if you have an imagination and watch movies because they are entertaining then this is a must. To the people that didn't like it, surely you must have known what it was about, why did you go to watch it?
123 out of 177 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Looks good but with story problems.
thomasallis21 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I'll start off by saying, the film looks beautiful but that is where it ends. The film has some serious story problems. It tries to be Game Of Thrones for children but falls very flat due to its 2 hour run time. Despite the film being called 'Maleficent: Mistress of Evil' there is very little Maleficent in the film and the short period of time she is in it, she definitely isn't evil. Michelle Pfeiffer is a great villian and is the glue that holds this film together. The end to this film is a massive battle with a huge body count and is resolved within minutes because of a wedding. Good to see if your a huge Disney fan but it's not worth going out of your way to see.
64 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Everything is amazing except the script
shaym_levy24 October 2019
The writing is not good enough. The visual is amazing and so is the acting, but the script is really bad.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Slow and stupid
hodgeseth26 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This was awful. The pacing was sooooooo slow. The effects were decent, Michelle Pfeifer and Angelina Jolie were good in their roles however... friends were dying around the main characters left and right but no one showed emotion. One of the auntie fairies sacrificed herself but aurora ignored that fact and chose to have the wedding less than an hour later. The traitorous fairy who was doing Nazi style experiments on others and murdering them was not only left free but attended the wedding as a guest. What kind of soulless characters are these People and how inauthentic is this writing.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
WATCH IT!!!
nanayuyidk18 October 2019
It was kinda predictable, but in a nice, Disney-way... There was a sense of humor, action, fantasy and drama... I really love that Maleficent is more than just the villain,it shows that people have more layers... Also Angelina Jolie and Michelle Pfeiffer in one movie, haven't we all been waiting for that? And upcoming star Elle Fanning showed a soft nevertheless badass Aurora... It's just a shame Brenton Thwaites (prince Philip) couldn't be in it...
74 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Aurora is too annoying
Djm031921 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I'm sorry. I get turned off when the teenage airhead causes more trouble than she is worth. She runs in to every scene just to get in the way and be annoying. Over and over. It's too much.
71 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant!!!
RayPereira3016 October 2019
Wow! Just wow!!!! Angelina Jolie has once again Proved why she is the perfect maleficent. Powerful performance, entertaining Indeed!!!!
108 out of 179 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hollywood mess
halinoordeen18 October 2019
Why take a beloved fairytale and deplete it of all magic and fantasy ? There is a reason these tales have withstood the test of time for centuries . Maleficent is supposed to be a formidable witch with great magical powers , why not atleast manifest some of this in a more interesting fashion and enhance the story ?Unfortunately , politically correct Hollywood has managed to drain every vestige of interest and personality from these stories and characters!
60 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disney again glamorizing royal families and poor decision making
braeimdb19 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
While visually compelling at times, the story in this movie is perceptually handicapped. Vivienne throughout the movie is as dumb as they come, betraying her own mother in the process and causing massive death which is conveniently forgotten in the end like it never happened. What appears to be half the Moors die in a genocide, as well as Maleficent who comes back to life due to a few fake tears. I kept hoping Vivienne would die or at the very least have her mom disown her. Disney is known for their movies like this that appeal to kids and mind controlled adults who are probably so broken on anti-psychotics that they can't think for themselves.
42 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil is a boring, soulless formula that can turn it's audience into sleeping beauties
RforFilm21 October 2019
Today's movie marks the return of Angelina Jolie as Maleficent. For those that remember, Maleficent was the main villain in the animated Sleeping Beauty from Disney. Like a lot of people, I've always praised the green-skinned demon/fairy as one of my favorite Disney antagonists, due to her grace, elegance, and overall design. Some might wonder why not someone more modern like Gaston, Frollo or Ursula; someone that has more motivation and development. Part of it is a nostalgia factor. When I was a kid, I was both frightened and entranced by the horned villain. Something about her portrayal seemed commanding and serious while being an animated character.

Of course, 2015's Maleficent tried to do what the Wicked musical did: by taking a black and white villain and showing her side of the story while proving she wasn't as bad people thought. I thought the live action version had potential, but was bogged by a script that was afraid to go too far with making her character bad and seemingly making all the wrong choices to the other characters. But it was still a big hit, and if a hit movie comes from Disney, then a sequel is immanent. So now we have Maleficent: Mistress of Evil.

In the years since the events of the first movie, Maleficent (played by Angelina Jolie) is still an outcast from the kingdom as people think she's evil. But her goddaughter Aurora (played by Elle Fanning) knows the truth and has taken position as Queen of the Moors, the forest where all the magical creatures lie. The big day comes when Prince Phillip (played by Harris Dickinson) finally proposes marriage and she says yes. Aurora tells Maleficent and the news doesn't go well. Through persuasion, Maleficent agrees to come to Price Phillips kingdom to meet his parents.

Aurora and Maleficent are introduced to Queen Ingrith (played by Michelle Pfeiffer) who already has a clear prejudice on magical creatures. The dinner goes awkward and gets worse when Ingrith announces that Aurora will be like a daughter to her. Maleficent is pushed to her limit and demands that Aurora leaves with her. She refused, Maleficent flies away, cursing her daughter, but also getting shot down with an iron pellet (iron is her weakness). While Aurora questions her choices in the queen's castle, Maleficent is rescued and brought to a land where more people of her kind exist and want revenge on the human world.

I already disliked the first Maleficent, so I had low expectations coming in. Unfortunately, the movie still seems to be misguided all over. Maleficent: Mistress of Evil certainly had a chance to do more of it's own thing. It just so happens that the same themes are present about how prejudice is bad and how humans in this world suck. So we already feel like were watching the first movie again.

Unlike the first where you got a sense the actors were trying, it seems like everyone is giving a similar dull performance. Angelina Jolie is dull, Elle Fanning is dull and even Michelle Pfeiffer is dull. I'm not sure if they were directed this way or if this was a contract-based obligated situation, but this only adds to the film's story problem; nothing really happens nor does anyone change. Oh sure, we do have a fair share of magical creatures, swordplay and even a third act war. But when you really think about it, it doesn't make any impact on the characters and how they view others. If the movie doesn't care how this does anything for Maleficent, then why should I.

Because of this, the movie comes out as more boring then anything. Though the first Maleficent was boring as well, I at least remember a summary of it. I doubt that I could recite any quotes or scenes from Maleficent: Mistress of Evil save for it's production design. I think this is a movie that put most of the direction into how it looks rather then what's on the inside. It's a cinematic plastic doll. It looks manufactured and feels manufactured. I'm sure this may have some fans, but I wouldn't be surprised if kids would rather watch another Marvel movie or even Frozen for the ninetieth time.

I'll give this three Maleficent dragons out of ten. As I said, the costumes, sets and effects still look nice, but without an engaging story or character, there's no reason to get on board. At best, this may have life in stores giving demonstrations for it's high definition quality. Otherwise, this is a sequel that can stay sleeping.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So good!
nikjwil18 October 2019
Loved Elle Fanning in this a lot more than the first Maleficent. Wonderful storyline that felt like an old, classic tale, yet still contained relevant themes. It has many side characters and side storylines, which I liked for the most part. Stunning colors, effects, costuming and cinematography. Good balance of comedic relief and drama. Intense battle scenes, but little/no gore. Probably a bit scary for kids younger than 7. Depends on the kid! A couple of loose ends and plot holes but I don't mind. I was entertained, and all I can think about is the final dress Aurora wears. (!!!!!) gorgeous! All in all I thought it was a little lighter than the first Maleficent, and more entertaining! 💜
52 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mistress of evil?
loncarkristina21 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, I have to say that I am a big fan of the first movie (despite all its flaws), and I am sad to see a franchise with such a great potential be ruined so badly. I wish I didn't have to write this review, but seeing all the positivity being spread around made me want to share a bit of objective criticism.

There are three main issues with this movie that poke my nerve really badly.

Firstly, the trailer and the title. Both are very misleading, luring the adult audience into thinking Maleficent will go through a Joker-like phase and actually do some evil. Well, the evilest thing we got is stopping a cat mid-air and threatening to kill it, as far as I'm concerned. She didn't even kill the queen (who actually deserved it) just because Aurora gets in the way. What evil are we even talking about?

The second thing that bothers me is trying to base a children's movie on war and genocide. I don't know who ever thought of that, but those two things just don't work together. Everything is sugar-coated, and absolutely no realism is presented throughout the movie. Literally no one thought that the two kingdoms could come together except for Phillip and Aurora, the idealistic and naive couple with no experience in the real world politics. (The beginning of the movie is actually a joke that writes itself!) Moreover, the elf that has been aggressive throughout the whole movie suddenly stops after a few kind words from an enemy prince? Give me a break. There are just so many plot incoveniences that stem from trying to make adult themes appropriate for children that it turns the movie into a parody rather than a believable story.

Lastly, the writing is just bad... I can't get over the fact that Maleficent has been guarding Aurora her whole life and the girl decides to believe the queen she met five minutes ago. Phillip is utterly useless, he couldn't even tell the court people that Maleficent doesn't stand iron. Also, remember that curse from the first movie that apparently can't be broken? Well, that is not a thing anymore.

There are few words that can describe the disappointment I felt after Maleficent resurrected herself on the top of that tower... Finally, I thought when she died, there is the plot twist we were waiting for! But no, because the protagonist in a children's movie simply can't die. And together with the immortality Maleficent gained, she also lost a large chunk of her character and future potential. Remember Jolie's expression when Maleficent found our her wings were cut off in the first movie? That scene gave me chills. Now when Maleficent is practically untouchable, it is a question whether we will get a great scene like that anymore.

Let's talk about the queen. In my opinion, she is probably the most developed character in the whole movie. Yes, she may be evil; but her motivation is on point, her hatred towards the moor is justified and the strategy to conquer it almost flawless. She is the only character besides Maleficent that understands the complexity of politics and has no problem putting Phillip in his rightful place. Since this is a children's movie, I honestly expected her to die as well as Stefan did in the first movie, but they didn't even do that... they just turned her into a goat. By the way, Pfeiffer's cold face suits the role perfectly and the costumography is absolutely stunning.

If I had to choose one scene that stuck with me the most, it would definitely be the dinner. Little do we know about the queen until then, but the way she makes Maleficent uncomfortable quickly and clearly lets us know what kind of a foe she is. Angelina and Michelle both did an astounding job portraying their respective characters and it was a true pleasure to feel the onscreen tension between them.

To summarize, Maleficent: Mistress of Evil is a movie that was stripped away from its dignity by writers who clearly do not understand that war is not a theme appropriate for children. As much as I loved the first movie, I wouldn't recommend this one to anyone interested in more than two hours of fun. Hopefully Disney will one day start caring about quality of their movies rather than making money... Such a shame.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
not recommended
jackngf18 October 2019
Great actor and acting. Hate that plot only. If it is what princess and prince should be , kingdom will fall. Sorry, got too serious. The princess's naive thinking just makes me want to run out of the cinema.
43 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Maleficent 2 remains fun for the young fans, but isn't much more.
movieman6-413-92951019 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil is the sequel to the first Maleficent film of 2014. This sequel is directed by Joachim Rønning, the director of Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar's Revenge.

In the film, the relationship between Maleficent (Angelina Jolie) and her goddaughter Aurora (Elle Fanning) is changing when Prince Philip (Harris Dickinson) asks her to marry him. The bond between Maleficent and the future in-laws of Aurora is a bit tense, because the in-laws mainly know Maleficent from her dark deeds from her past. Aurora and Philip are trying with their marriage to ensure that the different kingdoms of people and fantasy creatures can live so peacefully next to and with each other. Despite all these peaceful plans, someone seems to be working on dark plans. When the king becomes cursed with the same curse that brought Aurora into eternal sleep, Maleficent is soon designated as the guilty one. Maleficent therefore leaves the human kingdom, but is wounded. Aurora has to try without the help of her godmother to investigate who is behind the dark actions to prevent the threat of a war between the two kingdoms.

For this sequel, they have expanded the world of the first film with extra creatures and characters. These extra and recurring creatures serve more as comical entertainment for young viewers. Furthermore, this film also has many beautiful colored images as backgrounds. Of the scenes that Maleficent and other flying characters fly into, they have processed the 3D effects well, so that you can see the depth well. These scenes are extra entertaining for young viewers. Older viewers can see earlier that they have used CGI and a green screen for these images and characters, so that these things may seem less credible to older viewers.

The story is also somewhat predictable for older viewers, as a result of which the film may seem somewhat lengthy to them. If, as a parent, you and your children have enjoyed the first part, it is better to watch it again at home to be able to enjoy the film more yourself. Maleficent also had a greater role in the first part than in this second part. As a parent you can only watch this second part in the cinema if the children want it themselves.

The acting is well done by Angelina Jolie, but unfortunately she has a smaller role with less text in this new film. Fortunately, she knows how to bring her character to the fore with only face and body postures. Together with Michelle Pfeiffer she also has some nice confrontation scenes where the two sometimes only create tension with diva eyes facing each other. In this second part, Elle Fanning also gets more chance to shine as a leader of a kingdom, because in the first part her character was cursed for a long time with a sleep curse that prevented her from doing much else. In the first part, Harris Dickinson already felt something like an extra character who had little interest in the film. He has been given a greater role in this new film, but unfortunately with his acting, he still remains as stiff and emotionless as in the first part.
39 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Let down by a weak lead and a non existent plot
texxas-118 October 2019
Angelina Jolie was superb as usual, Michelle pfieffer just ain't got it no more. Harris dickinson is charming, a good actor and hot eye candy. Unfortunately the lead Elle fanning really let the film down. She read her lines as though she was down the pub. She's average looking even in full make up, when she tried to be deep she came along as pretentious. She's got nothing on her sister.

The story itself is a Romeo and Juliet type of thing. Aurora came off as unlikeable how she was so quick to betray her mum. She makes it clear from the start she chooses her man and his wicked family. There wasn't a huge, complicated plot, just lots of action scenes. Too childish for an adult, too creepy for children. There are some very strange characters that resemble beasts. The celebrity cast was impressive. 2 A listers, not bad. Good for family viewing. But all in all, I wouldn't want to see this again.
47 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Fire the director.
kihoon102319 October 2019
Too ordinary. too old style. too boring. i don't remember when was the last time that i watched such a boring movie. it was a early 90..
38 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mehhh
noelkongnik18 October 2019
Typical type c movie that has predictable story and only rely on the "special effect". What really disappoint me is the fact that this movie with it super high budget cannot give this impact to its viewer. This movie make me regret every penny i spend to watch it.
51 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Average Fare.
nautankey3 November 2019
The battle scene bought down the movie. It was a complete drag, and was too one sided for the major part. Not sure if the screenplay writers were aware that parents dont bring kids to Disney movies to watch prolonged bio genocides.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't waste your time on this horse poop
jbgibson-7538426 October 2019
The only reason I give it two stars is for Angelina Jolie's cheekbones
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Honestly one of the years worst films
nahon30619 October 2019
Now I know that the original movie isn't a masterpiece but Is this really the best Disney could do for an unwanted sequel. Angelina Jolie is the best thing about the movie but both her and Michelle Pfeiffer have nothing to do while Fanning utilisés her one look of distress through the whole film( could she be more annoying) A postage stamp sized story is stretched over to hours which feels like an eternity when you just want it to end. Utter waste of time.
25 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome
cihouuy16 October 2019
The best disney film I've seen so far... Jolie's awesome and I love love love it soooo mucj
68 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Lost in translation..
andymaranam20 October 2019
As I thought the original to be a very good film with some great cinematography and a sleeping beauty twist this film happens to bring nothing new unfortunately it has to many used cliches to make up for a lack of originality as with the the two main actors typical of the parts and her new mentor as he is in every other film. This was a mistake and became a constant dejavu of other films already made. 4/10 As ever the cgi is very good.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed